Latest News

MMP Updates & Community Happenings

2020 Awards results

by January 11, 2020 0

2020 Meaningful Movies Awards Celebration

A huge thanks to everyone who joined us at our 2nd annual Awards Celebration and made it so successful and fun!  Because of the pandemic, this year’s Awards Celebration was held online and hosted by our new Board Co-Chairs – Ren Deitel and Diane Tilstra. As part of the event, we were able to show a video with testimonials from venue leaders, supporters and most importantly our 2020 award winners. We are incredibly thankful for all of the incredible filmmakers who provided video clips of themselves talking about their work and the importance of providing spaces where people can learn and talk about social justice documentaries and the critical issues they focus on.

We are also extremely grateful and appreciative to everyone who donated to our auction which was held on the same evening.  Thank you for helping the Meaningful Movies Project sustain our local venues so that they can continue this important work; thank you for supporting new venues coming on board; and thank you for allowing us to reach out to more communities!

We were thrilled to present the following awards at the event:

  • Organization of the Year: Fix Democracy First, for their support of and collaboration with the Meaningful Movies Project
  • Filmmaker of the Year: Raoul Peck, for his film “I Am Not Your Negro”
  • Emergent Filmmaker of the Year: Holly Yasui, for her film “Never Give Up”
  • Film of the Year: “Dolores” for its impact in educating people about many intersectional issues including environmental justice, farmworker rights, women’s rights, economic justice and so much more.
  • Social Justice Impact Award: “I Am Evidence” for bringing awareness to and advancing political action around the important issue of backlogged rape kits.
  • Environmental Impact Award: “Dammed to Extinction” for bringing awareness to and advancing political action around the importance of saving salmon habitat and thus saving orca whales from extinction.
  • The first Turner Legacy Award: Melinda Raebyne for her compassion and dedication to promoting peace and justice for all people, as demonstrated in her film “Stories of Us: Camp Second Chance.”  

Please consider donating to help us continue our important work. Click on the yellow “Donate” button!


If you would rather not make an online donation, you can mail a check, payable to “Meaningful Movies Project,” to:

Meaningful Movies Project
P.O. Box 31005, Seattle, WA 98103

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

Leave a Comment, Continue the DiscussionYour email address will not be published. The Meaningful Movies Project is dedicated to civil, respectful conversations in which individual opinions are welcomed and honored. Please avoid violence in language, profanity, and personal attacks toward someone with whom you disagree. Avoid hurtful speech towards any race, religion, ethnicity, political affiliation, etc. Please use this space for the positive benefit of all, using thoughtful, succinct commentary. We reserve the right to remove comments that we deem inappropriate, and to block any subscribers who we feel refuse to comply.